Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Substance Abusers
Reload this Page >

Heroin addict boyfriend dumped me out of nowhere—any insight appreciated

Old 05-06-2019, 08:38 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Not sure what happened but my initial post was published too early and I don’t know how to fix it. Anyways, like I said, I’m new to this website and I wish I had come across it a few months ago. I don’t have anyone in my life that I feel comfortable talking to about this, and I’m not sure I know anyone who can relate in the first place. I’m hoping that someone here can provide any insight whatsoever about my situation.

I’m a 20/F college student and back in November, around 6 months ago at this point, I met a boy (my age) that I really hit it off with and we eventually began a romantic relationship. Early on, as in like within the first 2 or 3 times we hung out, he revealed that he’s a heroin addict but had been trying to quit for around a year. I, too, have struggled with drug abuse, though my drug of choice was amphetamine and I never really cared for opiates. Combine my history of drug use with my tendency to be pretty open-minded (albeit quite naive in hindsight), and you probably won’t be surprised that I wasn’t put off by his confession at all. Didn’t change my feelings for him one bit nor did it scare me or anything like that. So we continued our relationship and I really started to like him a lot, like my feelings were developing pretty quickly and we spent tons of time together.