New here, feeling lost - Boyfriend

Old 05-27-2018, 03:10 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New here, feeling lost - Boyfriend

Hi all,

This is my first post. I apologize if similar threads already exist - I am currently studying for nursing boards and have had limited time to view other posts.

I am seeking advice or encouragement regarding dating someone in recovery. My boyfriend of 4 years is a recovering heroin addict. I knew of his past when we met, but believed all would be ok since he had over a year of sobriety at the time. During our time together, he has relapsed twice, both for a few months. He had nearly 3 years of sobriety before his latest relapse this spring. He has now been sober for 2 months, is taking care of himself, and seems to be doing very well.

I, on the other hand, have been shaken to the core by this relapse. I always understood that relapse was a possibility, but believed it was less of an issue as the years went on. With 3 years of sobriety, I was ready to marry this man. We were preparing to look at rings. Now, I am so unsure of what to do - whether I should leave him. He is my best friend, and has been my rock through many difficult times. He is kind, generous, supportive, loving, funny, and intelligent. Since the relapse, he has been so patient and understanding of my conflicted feelings. When he is sober, he is the exact picture of the man I always thought I would marry, and I wish so desperately that addiction was not in the picture.