How to cope with having a family of drug addicts

Old 07-22-2017, 10:16 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How to cope with having a family of drug addicts

Hi all, I'm new to this and not really sure what I'm hoping to get out of it other than a place to vent to those who understand what it's like. I apologize in advance for how long this post is, I just have a lot I need to say.

I am 21, the youngest of 7 kids, and 3 of my older siblings are heroin addicts. I usually manage it really well since its been a huge thing in my life for about 10 years, but things lately seem worse than they've ever been. Just for a little background of where I am at now I'll give you a rundown of one my siblings:

One of my brothers, we'll call him P, who had been sober for almost 2 years, relapsed (again) last summer and has been getting worse and worse every day. He is addicted to heroin, cocaine, and alcohol. I go to college about 800 miles away from home so I wasn't able to see the signs and catch him before he went so off the deep end and when my mom would accuse him I would snap at her because she always thinks the worst and because i didn't want to believe it. During the two years he was sober he was my friend and someone I trusted and went to for advice like I should always be able to with my brother. But now I haven't talked to him in months and the last time I talked to him I told him I couldn't be friends with him and that because he was my brother I couldn't hate him but I just can't have a relationship with him unless he gets clean. I miss him and I worry all the time and I don't know what to do. Last week he overdosed on the front porch of my house and my mom found him and my dad had to do CPR right there for the whole neighborhood to see and my brother STILL won't admit that he has a problem. I want to reach out to tell him I love him and that I hope he knows that if he wants help I'll do whatever I can but I don't know if I'm ready to open myself back up to him yet.