Sister of an Addict

Old 11-24-2016, 12:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Sister of an Addict

Hi, this is my first time on here, I'm just so tired of feeling like no one can relate even though I know they're so many people going threw the same struggle. My brother stole from my boyfriend today, a lot of money. My parents kicked him out and I think this time they won't let him back. I usually am very level headed, I didn't even raise my voice when he stole from me, but I lost it today sending me into a full anxiety attack. My parents knew I had an anxiety disorder but they have never seen an attack before, ever sense high school I felt like they had enough to worry about with my brother and I didn't want to bother them with my emotional issues. With all the money or drugs he must have now and with no one around looking out for him I'm worried he's going to die tonight. I worry for my mom more the anything, my other brother and myself have found a way to come to terms with it as much as anyone can but she, like so many mothers of addicts, blames herself. I don't really know how things here usually work but I just needed to put my thoughts somewhere and maybe find some others who understand. Thank you.
Old 11-24-2016, 06:19 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to Sober Recovery, Aimless. Glad you found your way here. I am so sorry for your pain and sadness today. What are things you can do to ease your anxiety right now? Meds? Breathing? You are not alone. There is a lot of caring support here. Your brother, as you know, is doing what addicts do. You can't change or control his behavior, and worrying is not good for you. Try to rest and ease your mind. Peace.
Old 11-24-2016, 06:45 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Aimless Grace,

Welcome to the forum, you have found a good place to share and vent when needed. The level of experience and insight is very deep here so read and post as much as you can.