Sister of an addict.

Old 11-02-2015, 06:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sister of an addict.

Hi,

I have been reading these forums for a pretty long time but this is my first post. I'm a high school sophomore and the sister of an addict.
My older sister started using drugs about a little over a year ago. It took her like 3 months to switch to heroin, meth and basically anything she could get her hands on. In the past year and a bit, she's been:
1. Fighting with everyone, constantly, and being as nasty as she can be unless she gets what she wants;
2. Stealing from me and my mother to pay for her drugs, as well as for kids at school;
3. Sneaking out and coming home totally wasted - she's sometimes gone for 2-3 days, driving my mother insane;
4. Sent to a wilderness program and a private rehab, all of which paid by loans my mother can't pay back - and then picking up right where she left off when she got back;
5. Drove a car while she was high (and without a license), crashing it, and then leaving my mom stuck with the $20k bill;
6. Arrested twice, currently on probation.

The reason I'm writing now is because I see sometimes these posts about parents who don't want to kick their addicted kids out of the house. If you have other children... please, kick the addict out for their sake. My sister is destroying our family and I'm certain she's not the only addict who does that. There is no trust between us anymore. I hate her so much and I'm happy we have no shared genetics (I'm adopted). I also hate my mother for enabling her. My mother is constantly convinced that she can force my sister to quit. I don't have any money for college now because my mother is spending everything we've got on my sister who definitely doesn't deserve it.... the wilderness program, private rehab, court fees, private detective fees to figure out where she was when she ran away, the car bill. And now she talks about sending her to some other program as if that's going to work.