Wife of a alcohol and substance abuser

Old 12-23-2014, 05:40 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Wife of a alcohol and substance abuser

Hey guys I'm new to this app and was just wondering how it all works. My husband is a functioning alcoholic and substance user. He says he wants to quit but doesn't make up a plan on how. I don't know what to to do help him because I've never had to deal with this type of thing before. I'm very hurt and angry with him because he's covered all this up from me and I feel like he's extremely selfish. So basically I just need to know what I can do to help him get sober.
Old 12-23-2014, 06:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

nessaC23 - Welcome to SR, though sorry for what has brought you here.

I hope you read around other posts and threads in this forum. Most of us come here wanting to know how to get someone else clean and/or sober. What we realize is that's not possible. What we CAN do is make the most of our own live's, regardless of what our loved one's do.

I know that must sound like a foreign language to you, right now, but I will share a little bit of my ES&H (experience, strength and hope).

I was an undiagnosed codependent, I spent a couple of decades trying to get my loved one to stop drinking, to be THE person he'd stop drinking for.

It didn't happen, I found myself turning to alcohol and then drugs in order to deal with it. I became an addict and I hit a really low bottom.

I'd found SR some time before, kept using, but kept coming back here. I found myself clinging to this forum. It took me a while, but I finally realized this was where people "got me" and was home to me.

I'm several years into recovery for both addiction and codependency. That being said, I've lost one of my ex-boyfriends to the addiction we shared, I lost my stepmom to another addiction. MY knowledge of addiction and recovery was not enough to help them.