Advice please!

Old 12-06-2014, 09:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Advice please!

Hello. This is my first time to post on this site. I'm looking for some advice and guidance. My son is 24, and has abused opiates for 7 years. We have been through the gamut---rehabs, detox, overdose, er visits, methadone clinic, counselors, therapists. He has lost 14 jobs in the past 6 years. We have allowed him to live in our home all this time. Today, we asked him to leave. We took him to a Suboxone doctor this past week and he lied to us about using the Suboxone so he could continue using his drug of choice- Roxcodone--intravenously.
I have read SO MANY books and I know we have been enabling him by allowing him to live with us--but I am struggling with putting him out with no job, money or food. Trying to reassure ourselves we are doing the right thing--because we have tried everything else.
Old 12-06-2014, 09:37 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

This is so hard as a parent to go through. Try to remember he is making the choices to use. He has to want recovery. My heart breaks for you. As a parent we have to get a strong backbone or they will continue to abuse the drugs and you.
Old 12-06-2014, 10:38 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you, Daisy6234- I know you are right. It is just such a terribly hard thing to do.
Old 12-06-2014, 11:28 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

My mom was my enabler. She helped me get drunk for years.. she didn't even realize what she was doing.
Old 12-07-2014, 12:08 AM
  # 5 (permalink)