Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Substance Abusers
Reload this Page >

My rules for surviving the chaos of being involved with a cocaine addict

Old 11-10-2014, 06:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Again, this is part of a much longer post - but believe it easier to read in 'pieces'. The RULE should be 'NEVER be involved with an addict / active or not'. But we are human beings - and I don't honestly know when that day will come when I will say 'ENOUGH'. For now there is too much love flowing through my veins. And FAITH. Faith in this life. Faith in God. Faith that H will one day be healed.

Anyway, below are a few of 'my' rules which keep me sane. I would like to claim these lessons as all being self taught - but not without my fellow members here on SR... who have walked with me, held my hand, touched my cheek. Held me up. Stopped me from falling. To Vale, Zozo, Cynical One, Ann, Kindeyes, Englishgarden and everyone else - THANK YOU.

So when the love of my life has relapsed I try to remember this:

1) That this is NOT about me. This is all about him.

2)This is REAL. Accept it – make a plan – be strong.

3) I immediately say a prayer – to Christ – and am reminded that I am loved. That I am complete. That I need to get OUT. Immediately.

4) That all the love in the world will not help H – unless he helps himself.

5) All addiction takes one down the same path – and at some stage the path splits into three – there are ONLY three outcomes – Complete recovery (very, very rare): Institution; DEATH.

6) You DON’T have to remain in a relationship with an addict.

7) IF you chose to stay – be absolutely 150% sure you can handle it. Be so spiritually grounded in your belief that when the proverbial sh*t hits the fan – you KNOW to walk. Or to stay – but your very faith in God, in yourself transcends the chaos – and protects you with a shield – more powerful than the addiction.