SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Substance Abusers (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/)
-   -   I must change (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/350217-i-must-change.html)

irisgardens 11-09-2014 09:29 AM

I must change

I must change

Spirit of the Universe, I pray to remember,
No one can make me change.
No one can stop me from changing.
No one really knows how I must change,
Not even I. Not until I start.
Help me remember that it only takes a slight shift
In direction to begin to change my life.

From Hazeldon Daily Message

irisgardens 11-09-2014 09:39 AM

Today I prayed this prayer.

Have been very down and discouraged but I know this is true...although I am new to this layer of recovery...I am not new to recovery...

Although I am overwhelmed by the realization of how deep my need for recovery goes...I am going to work this one small step at a time.

I am going to get up and be today.

I don't know exactly what that means...have a plan in my head...but recently nothing I plan comes to fruition because I feel so bad...so not going to talk about what I am going to do...but just going to get up and be. That will be enough for God to take me to the rest of whatever the day has in store.

I am grateful to be alive and for a husband who, after 7 months away, will be home on 11/20. I will have a bit more support then...although I still need my naranon meetings and to continue these small changes...the slight shifts.