SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Substance Abusers (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/)
-   -   Marijuana - Cancer and Chemotherapy (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/345972-marijuana-cancer-chemotherapy.html)

SteviePDX 09-24-2014 06:03 PM

Marijuana - Cancer and Chemotherapy

Marijuana - Cancer and Chemotherapy

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My 22 year old son is what I believe to be a marijuana addict. It has caused him and my family so many problems but he would never agree with this assessment as he is in massive denial. I have been attending Al-Anon for three years. We have been estranged for a long time until he was recently diagnosed with cancer. I have been trying to be there for him with his illness and detach with love knowing full well he will/is continuing to smoke - even against doctors' orders. When he came back around I very clearly stated my boundaries....No marijuana in my home and I don't want to be around you while you are high. He does not live with me - he lives with his father who I feel grossly enables him. In the last two weeks he has brought drugs into my home and on another occasion snuck out of the house in the middle of the night when he was staying over to get high and I caught him and asked him to leave - that he couldn't be high in my home and I will uphold my boundaries no matter what. He played the cancer card. He has never ever used pot in any medicinal way (unless of course he is self-medicating) only to escape his life and all his problems. He does all the usual - blame, guilt-trip, deflect and attack to get me to see his point of view. I have again had to bow out - even during his cancer treatment as it is impossible for him to respect my boundaries