New to SR

Old 08-24-2014, 04:07 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy New to SR

Good Morning, I'm new to SR. I attended my first Nar-Anon meeting last week.

My 25 yo son left rehab against medical advice on the same day i visited to discuss his transition after rehab.

The counselor and I both suggested that he not return to his "home" but to get a clean fresh start in an Oxford house within 30 miles. The Rehab facility offered to assist with interviews and transportation when he was discharged. I offered to help for two months with rent/food and that I would visit at least monthly (10 hour round trip).

He response was two fold. I want to return home where good people can help me. And, its my life and I'll do what I want.

The good people mean me....the person he nickles and dimes for money and the family of his gf (who is in rehab herself).

It's my life....well that's what he has done since he was a kid....and left a trail of misery. At 25 he's homeless with no job skills and can't seem to stay employed for more than a month.

Fri as I was still driving home, I got a call from the facility to tell me he'd left. Counselor tried to get him to sleep on it and he refused. Said that if he couldn't come home, there was no reason to stay.

He contacted me repeatedly yesterday from different phones asking if I was busy. I told him I wasn't ready to speak with him and that this was his decision and that I had no money.

The roller coaster is very difficult and I just want off. I want to stop feeling guilty.

qwer1234
Old 08-24-2014, 04:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Welcome, Qwer. My adult son is an active addict and I know the pain you feel in your heart.

You did the right thing by letting him bear the consequences of his bad choices. He wants everything his way and still has many lessons to learn. Taking him home would only bring the problem into your place of peace and safety, your home.