Feeling frustrated and trapped...

Old 05-05-2013, 12:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Feeling frustrated and trapped...

So this guy and I have been knowing each other for over 6 years. He became interested in me about 3.5 years ago and has since been treating me very well. I knew about his drug addiction past the first day we met and was very cautious about progressing the relationship. Anyhow, I went through some issues and during the process he offered a lot of help without asking for any return. I grew to care about him more and more after this incidence. Since we were living in different cities at the time, I didn't really get to know him on a regular, day-to-day basis. During one of his business trip to where I lived, he confessed his feeling towards me and wanted to get to know me (quote: I wanted to fall in love, I want kids and I want wife, and I want to get to know you). So I agreed to keep in touch but then he disappeared. Later I knew that he relapsed during this time. Then after he went back from rehab, we reconnected (our companies did business together) and I went on a business trip to his city. He expressed his feelings again and wanted to get to know me more. We talked about some of his struggles battling addiction and I showed support as a friend.

Since I was going to relocate to where he lives in a few months at the time, we made plans to keep in touch. Then he disappeared again. Two weeks later, he called me and told me he relapsed again and checked himself into rehab. He asked me could we hang out after he comes out of treatment and we can meet and continue what's between us then.

Then I waited about 7 months only learned that he relapsed again after being clean for about 6 months. He then cut off all communications and changed his number. I also lost contact with him.