How do I respond to this letter?

Old 03-31-2013, 08:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do I respond to this letter?

My daughter is currently in jail on heroin possessing/distributing charges. She's twenty-three. We had no idea she was even using heroin. Anyway, she did not contact me when she got arrested. Neither did her father; I found out on the social media. Anyway, I wrote her a letter last week, just focusing on how much we all love her and reminding her of how many people have always loved her. I didn't mention much else. So, she wrote me back. 4 pages of how I was a "bad" mother, how we moved all the time so that she didn't feel like she had a home (I graduated nursing school and bought a house in the suburbs back then). She twisted a lot of what went on when she was a teenager. No sense of reality at all. Then, the next half of the letter she explained all of her current boyfriends arrests and charges; of course, none of them were HIS fault...So, my question is, do I write back? I did write her a shorter letter again reminding her that we love her. I didn't respond to any of her accusations and stories. But, I haven't mailed it. My issue is do I let her use me as a punching bag when she's the one who has made so many bad decisions? My hope for her is fading fast. She's going into a judicial diversion program, 28 days inpatient, of course, right in the area she's been living in, and then outpatient. True, if she doesn't do well, she gets automatic jail time. But, 28 days in that area is not enough. But, I know, I can't control that. It's just that it seems things are going to get worse for awhile. At any rate, not sure if I should just not contact her for a bit or continue, even though she makes me feel so rotten. She's just not getting it, so to speak.
Old 03-31-2013, 09:11 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

It’s been my experience to NOT engage the addict. Don’t get drawn in to their “quacking” and “blame”.