Letting go of the past

Old 12-31-2012, 07:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Letting go of the past

I am new to this so bear with me.

I have been in a relationship for 11 years, we got married and that was a roller coaster. 2weeks before we got married he got arrested in another city and I had no idea he was even going to be there. I went through with the wedding and it just got worse from there. We got divorced and I moved away. About a year later he moved back home to where I was living and we started seeing each other again. Some how years later and much heartache I am still with him.

I'm having a hard time figuring out how to forgive myself for staying in this dysfunctional relationship. He is in recovery now and I'm so thankful for that and excited to see where that takes us but I still struggle letting go of the past pain. Which then confuses me even more because I chose to stay with him through it all why can't I just let go of it? I think the hardest part is how he just now telling me what all went on. It's hard to believe that I lived with him for years but never was around or exposed to his dug abuse. He was very good at covering it up and keeping it away from me.

I just don't know how to deal with talking about it and he wants to. Is it crazy of me not to want to hear about the drug abuse now. I don't want to just sweep it under the rug but I'm just tired of feeling pain from past events.
Old 12-31-2012, 10:25 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Like it or not the past is part of us we can either try and bury it, which I don't think I s healthy, or accept it and try to learn from it.
I hope his recovery goes well and that your past pain gets easier to dal with. I believe it will.
Old 12-31-2012, 10:50 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

If you'd rather not hear about the bad things he did, insist that he share with his sponsor or a recovery friend and leave you in peace.