Working

Old 09-16-2012, 07:22 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Working

Hi all,
So my RA is home now from detox and we are on day 2. I know it is only 10:30 am but so far today is good. He hasn't been feeling sick and he is taking his suboxone and will attend a meeting today.

So yesterday when we were at his parents home his mom said to him "maybe you shouldn't work for a while." Shouldn't he work? so that he can try and focus his mind on something other than his old life. I am new to this so I am not sure what to say. She looked at me and asked if I agreed. All I could do was shrug my shoulders.

He still has a job and he can return back to work tomorrow. It just so happened and worked out that in his construction job they were laid off last week due to inspections so there wasn't any work and he went to detox. So he can go to work tomorrow and continue to make an honest living where he can in turn start to pay of his many debts, pay his truck payment, and pay his bills. Right?

Any thoughts on this? I haven't said anything to my RA and I never agreed nor disagreed with his mom. This is just been sitting in my mind and I am curious.
Old 09-16-2012, 07:35 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Iceberg Ahead!

That's a very important question. That is why some As are in longer rehab, halfway houses, three-quarter houses, etc. Easing into the stress of "real life" work without their coping DOC. It's something for him and his aftercare or recovery professionals to deal with. Not for the family to figure out, unless the A works in the family business.

After an appropriate number of months, your RA will have face full-time work though. I'm curious how many months that would be for most As.
Old 09-16-2012, 07:36 AM
  # 3 (permalink)