A Fork in the Road

Old 07-08-2012, 10:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

A Fork in the Road

Hi Everyone,

I am new to this forum. In fact, this is my first time on any forum.

On Friday, my boyfriend of eight months confirmed my suspicions that he had recently relapsed after a year and a half of being clean. Looking back, I realize that he was never really sober. He confessed to me that he had been using cocaine about every other day for the past two weeks. His confession hit me like a high-speed train. My head is still spinning.

After his confession, he told me that he wants to get back on track with his recovery. We had made plans to see his therapist on Monday so that he can get back on Suboxone. He wanted me with him when he told his mom about his relapse. He promised he would no longer see his drug friends. I was ready to be his rock during this difficult time.

Then, this morning, I discovered a suspicious text from one of his drug friends. I told him that he had to get out of my house. He told me that he was only meeting up with that friend so that he could look him in the eye and tell him why they couldn't be friends anymore, and that they would be attending an AA meeting together. They weren't going to use drugs. He then told me that we need some space from each other because he is no good for me. I know that in the long run, he is doing me a favor by pushing me away and giving me an opportunity to get out before his addiction ruins my life along with his. But--

I'm not ready to let him go.

I haven't had enough time to prepare for a loss like this. He is the love of my life. My heart is aching; it hurts so badly. I am clinging to the person he is, and in my head, I know that that person is gone. He has been gone for the past two weeks, only to be replaced by his addiction. I know this, but I'm grieving the loss nonetheless.