Go Back  SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information > Friends and Family > Friends and Family of Substance Abusers
Reload this Page >

Girlfriend in Recovery 20 days - I'm new to this - Do we have a chance

Old 04-12-2012, 10:57 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

This is my very first post. I met my girlfriend 14 months ago. She has been addicted to Tramadol up until 3 weeks ago. We've had an incredible relationship. We get along incredibly well, rarely argue, never lie to each other, and support each other very well.

When she decided to detox she also decided that we should separate. She said she needs to focus on her recovery. She wants us both to stay close but she said if I kiss her or we try to pursue our relationship right now it will mess up her recovery and she will fall into me. Now, since I've never been addicted to anything in my life and have known very few addicts this concept is foreign to me.

Can someone please help me understand why she would choose to separate herself from me when I'm the one person in her life that provides her the most loving support? It seems completely illogical.

What advice and you give me to help me to help her? I don't want to interfere with her recovery but I also don't want to lose her either. My life has been complete chaos since the separation started. We are still hanging out but it's so tough to pretend we haven't been intimate for the past year. Do we have a chance of surviving this? I told her I'm never going to abandon her, I'm going to stick with her through this and support her and she seems to appreciate that. I love her dearly and this is tearing me apart.

Thanks for any help you can give.
Old 04-12-2012, 11:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)