SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Substance Abusers (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/)
-   -   The guilty feeling of leaving an opiate addict.. (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/249168-guilty-feeling-leaving-opiate-addict.html)

lonelysad239 02-18-2012 07:07 AM

The guilty feeling of leaving an opiate addict..

Hello! My story will probably be similar to alot of people here. I started dating my boyfriend around a year ago and he said the famous lines, " i have been using for two years, but I am 100% clean now". So I believed him.. why would I have any doubts?. I was very naive about the whole drug scene, never done it, never knew anyone who did. Our relationship was wonderful, felt like a fairy tale. He treated me like a princess and made me feel so special. I cannot bash him in that sense, he loved me unconditionally and I thought we would spend our whole lives together. I found my "soul mate". He started acting weird, and I started questioning him.. But when I did, " Baby how can you even say that?, I would never do that and hurt our relationship, why don't you trust me?".. So I believed him. I loved the man and thought he would never, ever lie to me. One day, I found out he's been using, for a FACT. I confronted him and as all addicts do, pleaded and cried that he will "stop", and give him another chance and he's sorry for manipulating me and it's not personal. So I did. I was the most supportive girlfriend, my life was put on hold. I would never judge him or bash him, we would always talk about everything and his journey towards recovery. He said he didn't need any treatment & can do it on his own. Time continued and I felt like our fairy tale was continuing.. Found out AGAIN, hes been using and stole a large sum amount of money fro