Not a newcomer...but sure feel like one!

Old 01-09-2012, 08:43 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
work in progress

Not a newcomer...but sure feel like one!

Hello all... I've been coming here for just over 2 years now.

In a nutshell...I broke from my EXAH two years ago. He is an opiate addict.

I spent the whole first year working on myself...no dating, just trying to get to know "me". I still am.

Over the last few years, I have managed to maintain a close friendship with my ex. He has been living in Dubai for work, so the distance made it easier for me to not get too close. Every time he is back in the states, we see each other.

Last year was a pretty rough one for me, as I lost my 12 year old dog (my baby) in January, and RIGHT after went to NY to see my brother in ICU. He was admitted for liver and kidney failure due to alcoholism. I've never seen anything like that in my life...mostly in horror movies to be frank. He battled for 6 months in ICU, and passed away at the end of last May. It was devastating to me and the family.

Mr.Sofa...though in the middle east stayed with me through it all. We were friends. AND it was nice. He's always been a very friendly person to be around, always warm. I was glad we were able to maintain a close friendship after it all. We were together for 10 years, and have known each other as friends for 14.

Fast forward................

He was home for the holidays and came to see me in the morning with coffee. Brought me some gifts from Dubai, and showed me pictures of his recent trip to Thailand. I had actually seen some already because he was texting me from Phuket. Told me he went alone, needed to clear his head and just get away for awhile. Said his work was starting to get to him.

I admit, I was planning on having a "rendezvous" with him while he was home. Haven't "been" with anyone in YEARS!!!! Ugh.... he was very excited about the proposition, to say the least.