I found my dad's drug paraphernalia. Advice?

Old 08-05-2011, 04:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I found my dad's drug paraphernalia. Advice?

I'm new here. I found this site through Google (searching for people who have dealt with this kind of stuff directly to seek advice).

I'm 25. I live at home. I graduated from college almost 3-years ago and I'm working right now and soon to be in grad school.

Anyway, I went into the basement looking for some super glue and I pulled out one of the drawers from my dad's desk and to my complete and utter surprise, I found myself staring at a razor and a small mound of white powder sitting on top of a mirror. I stared at it for at least 2 minutes. If anything in my life blind-sided me, it was this. I simply couldn't believe it. I just stared and stared at it not knowing what to do at all.

When it finally hit me, I just went back up stairs (passing my dad along the way), took a shower and left. I had to get out for a bit just to process it all.

So after being out for a few hours, I found my mom on the porch. I told her what I found. I asked her if she had any knowledge of my dad being a drug user and she said no. I showed her what I found and when she opened the drawer, a piece of paper was covering the mirror and the white mound was now gone. She was just as surprised when she saw it (the mirror and the razor). So now we're just waiting for my dad to get home.

I've felt like crying all day. I just cannot believe that my dad might be doing cocaine/heroin or whatever that is. Despite my semi-adventurous years in college, I've never been exposed to hardcore drugs. My stomach is in knots and I'm all shaky because it's just so unsettling to me.

What should I do? Like I said, I've already told my mom. What should I expect?
Old 08-05-2011, 05:02 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm so sorry. I know you have to be devastated. I think it's great that you spoke to your mom and that's a really good first step.