first post...her first time in rehab.

Old 07-16-2011, 08:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question first post...her first time in rehab.

I've been lurking/reading this forum off and on now for months and finally decided to post. I'm still learning all the shorthand terms :P
I have been with my partner for nearly 2 years and for all of that time there have been issues with addiction whether she's using or not. I found out shortly after we started living together that she had issues with opiates. I didn't catch on right away, but soon enough. Not only was she high and nodding out a lot, she began to steal pills from me and my mother (who lives in the same home). I found out that she was not in recovery as she'd led me to believe when we first met. In fact she had almost a year sober... but 4 years ago.
She eventually stopped using opiates but switched to alcohol. Its not that she drinks and things get broken but its her compulsion to drink that wreaks havoc. She moved out in Feb to a sober living house, but it wasn't structured enough and after the first 30 days she figured out no one was going to bust her for not going to AA so she quit. I allowed her to move back in although I knew without her working a program, we would end up at square one soon.