I love him and he's trying...

Old 07-13-2011, 03:01 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I love him and he's trying...

Hi this is my first time working with a thread so not sure if I'm doing it right, but here I go. I am learning how to live with someone who is recovering from drug addiction, and I just need support from people who have been through this, who I don't have to worry what they think. Me and my boyfriend met each other at my church. He was in a rehab program that attended there and then we both did an internship together at that same church.
So going into the relationship I knew that he had a past with alcohol and drugs. He did well in the different programs for four years, but as soon as he got out into the real world and got a job he relapsed. We have been trying to overcome this relapse stage for about a year and six months now. I understand that relapse is a part of recovery, it is still painful to the family n friends. I try to detach my self but sometimes it is so hard. The people he works with are nice people but just about all of them are into the whole get wasted and high seen, so whenever he is going to hang out with them i get anxious about him drinking and getting high, Which happens just about everytime he is with them. I know it is his battle to fight and it is hard for me to just sit here and watch as he continues these bad patterns. We are both attending a rehab group, although with his most recent schedule change he has missed and it makes me worry. He says that he is going to start going again, and I believe that he will but what if he is always too tired to go. I don't want to go through this again... I felt we were making progress and I fear losing the ground we have gained. I know that God has the power to bring us through this but it is hard to remember that and keep it in your mind when he keeps struggling. In the meantime I am trying to work on my own recovery over codependency. It is difficult to keep things in balance.

That's all for now