Separation

Old 06-11-2011, 09:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Separation

So this seems likr a silly question but what does a separation from an addicted spouse usually look like? We have been separated for awhile and I have Told him I love him and want things to work when he is healthy but see very little signs of change. He calls me and acts like nothing is wrong. I only call him to discuss child visitation. I am pretty cold to him, actually. I am very hurt by his continued drug use, affair, and the lies he has told about me. Anyway I hear people talk about separation for at least a year. But, other than working on my own recovery, which I am doing, what should my actions towards him be? Should I tell him I don't know if I will ever be able to forgive him and trust him again or just leave it at "I'm not coming home right now". I am not good at being direct. I guess I need to make up my mind and tell him. Just wondered if anyone here had some advice.
Old 06-11-2011, 09:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

So he's an active addict, a liar and cheater.

Is he paying child support or is he a dead beat bio dad, too?

Working on our own recovery means focusing on what we control, ourselves.
You are not obligated to say anything. Have you considered silence is golden and taking the focus off him?
Old 06-11-2011, 09:34 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

No he isn't a dead beat. He is a good dad. Our finances are still mixed, which I think I am going to tell him I am separating my finaces soon. We have a mortgage and I don't want to see that go unpaid and my credit be turned upside down too. I want to sell the house and he wants to hold on to it.
Old 06-11-2011, 09:41 AM
  # 4 (permalink)