new to the board, with a philosophical dilemma

Old 02-26-2011, 03:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to the board, with a philosophical dilemma

Hi, so I am new to message boards and to generally talking to people, but not at all new to dealing with addicts among family and friends. My dad's a crack addict, has been my whole life. I spent so much of my childhood covering for him and making excuses. Due to some upheaval in the family I recently found myself feeling responsible for getting him out of a bad situation (unemployment and impending homelessness). The problem is that I'm a student, broke and trying to start on a good career/life path. I don't want to get stuck in the cycle of fixing his life instead of my own. I already have so much resentment about the things that went wrong when I was younger. Also, I still hold out a tiny bit of hope that my dad might take control of his own life - which won't happen if people continue to enable him. I really wish to see him want change. So I have come to the realization that the right thing to do is to let go, and not enable.

Now the dilemma: I am having a philosophical and moral conflict in attempting to reconcile that decision with habitual enabling of other addicts in my life. The other addict very close to me is a mother with young children who she loves dearly. She has been trying to get clean for a long time but has been having a rough time of it and relapses. If she gets caught relapsing though she could loose custody of her kids. Then the kids end up in a foster care situation that is much more volatile and *much* worse for the kids. (Not saying this is the case for all foster care, just that this particular circumstance is tricky and ends up bad for the kids). So when this woman messes up, I often step in to cover up and fix things.