this is living hell

Old 01-26-2011, 05:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

this is living hell

This is my first time here. I am the much older sister (by 17 years) of a 21 year old alcohol and substance abuser. I have played the role of a 3rd parent in his life, so I feel There is such a long history that I don't expect anyone to read but I will try to describe what has been going on recently in a nutshell. My brother, BPR, is not learning from his experiences and I am so afraid that he is going to die or go to jail. Since turning 18 and going to college, he has been using alcohol, marijuana, and hard drugs (prescription and illegal) on and off, overdosing at least twice. He has had a couple of misdemeanors for minor crimes during periods of heavy use. His license has been suspended twice, although he technically only has one DWI. He also lost a full ROTC scholarship when his university suspended him, resulting in a $50,000 debt to the government.

He went back to school this past semester, and was doing well, so we thought, until his doctor prescribed him Adderall. BPR's substance of choice is definitely cocaine. During winter break, he seemed to be rather depressed... and as the end of his 30 day supply approached, it was obvious that he was not using it according to his dosage because he ran out a couple of weeks before he could get his refill. I facilitated getting the refill, as he was going to Rome a few days before the 30-day period ended. He lied to a family friend doctor that he was on 60 mg, double his regular dose, and a few days later he went on a bender. Flying to Rome was overwhelmingly scary to him, plus his flight was canceled due to the blizzard, and he had a panic attack at the airport. He canceled his trip, lying to his girlfriend in Rome that he had had to be hospitalized. The guilt from the lie sent him into a downward spiral.