Feeling alone even when with somebody else?

Old 12-28-2010, 06:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling alone even when with somebody else?

I have been wrestling with my feelings ever since my RABF of 14 years got fired again. We do things together, and live in the same house. However, I still feel a lack of connection. I don't know if it is because I feel some kind of anger or resentment over his problems with the jobs. As far as I know, he's not back on drugs. He's been clean for over 2 years. It's just that he doesn't have that much to do now that he is jobless, yet he is always whining and complaining. He's tired, and is not up to doing anything except watching TV, etc. I know that I shouldn't do this, but I do watch his pupils and they seem to be normal. He isn't scratching or anything. Plus, last time he relapsed on the pain pills, he reached his bottom pretty quickly. He was having to lie to doctors/pharmacies to support his habit. I wish we could have a reconnection, but I think I am also afraid of getting hurt again.
Old 12-29-2010, 06:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Maybe get him to go to dr for a checkup? Could it be he's suffering from depression?
I was laid off for close to a year and I was the same way... tired, watched tv most of day, looked for jobs online a little, but my get up and go had went. I'm working again, but have this whole week off and all those feelings have returned. I have to make myself get up and do something. I'm thinking of going to the doctor myself!

It is hard to trust again once we've been hurt. (((HUGS)))
Old 12-29-2010, 08:37 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Canine Welfare Advocate

If your RABF is going through a period of unemployment and not using, he should be commended. I don't mean to be gender-biased, but we men tend to identify with our job, with being a bread winner. We lose that, we lose part of us. When I was out of work, I felt less a man.