End of my rope

Old 11-12-2010, 10:34 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
jto

End of my rope

My wife has been taking methadone for 12 years, by prescription. No one informed her or me of the long-term impact of methadone, so we happily went along with it. She never really exhibited classic addiction/abuse behavior that I was looking for - lying, doctor shopping, etc. She never had to; the doc gave her EVERYTHING she asked for.

About a year ago things turned ugly and lights turned on. She has always been confrontational, eager for a fight, but it got vindictive and she started hitting the children. As I counseled with my ecclesiastical leader, he asked if I thought she was an addict (he has a prior career as a social worker; he had a educational/experiential basis for asking the question). She's told me for years "I'm a social worker, I know what addiction is and I'm not addicted. Trust me. I don't abuse, I don't lie, I don't 'lose my medications' or such". So I told him "No."

After a couple more months, I believed him enough to start researching. What I learned scared the beejeebers out of me. She's an addict, through and through.