Do any marriages survive???

Old 09-14-2010, 06:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Do any marriages survive???

Hello all! I am a newbie who has been lurking on the boards and have decided to join and tell my story.

My husband and I have been married 5 years next month and have been dating 10. About 1 1/2 into our relationship we both developed an addiction to pain meds. The addiction lasted for about 9 months before I was through. I left my then boyfriend and amazingly enough (I've since learned) withdrew on my own and have been sober ever since. My husband (then boyfriend) entered a detox program to get clean. We got back together and then got married 3 years later.

In October 2008 my husband lost his job due to the recession. We had been in the process of trying to buy a house and also starting a family. He started getting really depressed. September of last year completely out of the blue he was arrested with pills on him. This was a total shock to me. I knew that he was really depressed and having a hard time due to not being able to find work and feeling like he was letting me down (we had to put the house buying and baby on hold). I was so angry with him. It had been almost 7 years, I couldn't believe that he would do this to us.

He said he had been using for about 6 weeks at that time. He started on suboxine (sp?) and was attending NA regularly. Seemed like he was doing well but I had totally lost a lot of trust in him. We went through a hard time, I had a really hard time trusting. He seemed to be doing well although he still had bouts with depression. He told me that he had even had suicidal thoughts a couple of months ago. His doctor put him on Xanax for his anxiety. I was fearful of this because my motto has been to live as clean as possible, I rarely even take asprin. I was afraid of him abusing it or it triggering him in some way.