Boyfriend and pot smoking

Old 08-22-2010, 08:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Boyfriend and pot smoking

This is my first time writing in this area of SR...I'm an alcoholic and so is my on-again, off-again boyfriend. He and I started dating about a year and a half ago; we were both sober at the time and met in AA. Started living together in November 2008, started drinking together in January 2009, got sober again for a while, started drinking again for a while, got sober...well, I got sober but he started drinking and smoking pot without my knowing about it in January 2010. Once I found out, I broke up with him. Since he doesn't have a job (he's on disability for mental issues) he didn't move out until mid-March, at which time I thought I'd seen the last of him.

Fast forward to late May of this year, the former bf contacts me and a few other friends to tell me he's drinking and smoking pot again, feeling suicidal, and needs to go to the hospital. He stayed in the psych ward for about a week, after which time he (supposedly) was planning to go to a six-month treatment center. I offered to let him stay with me for the couple of days between being released from the hospital and going to treatment.

Well, for various reasons he couldn't manage to get into treatment right away, and we sort of rekindled our romantic relationship - he had really changed a lot and was going to AA, getting his life in order, etc. The "few days" that he was to spend with me turned into two months...but I didn't pressure him about the treatment plans since he seemed so healthy and was doing so well...he'd even stopped smoking cigarettes as well as drinking and smoking pot. I thought there might be a chance this relationship could work out after all, which surprised the heck out of me.