Sickening feeling and confusion

Old 07-28-2010, 04:28 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sickening feeling and confusion

I was recently involved with someone who is recovery. He has been about 6 months in and was doing great but then he came up to see me. And it was a wonderful time. When he returned home, I sort of fell apart and maybe I pressured him, I don't know.

Anyway, he has dropped off the face of the planet, won't return calls etc. And I fear deeply that he has relapsed.

If so, now I feel HORRIBLE. I have NO experience with this stuff. No one in my immediate family had a substance problem so I didn't know how fragile he really was. I know that relationships before their first year are the slippery slope for relapse, esp if they don't work out.

A couple of weeks ago he sort of pushed me away and said he couldnt be in a relationship and I was devastated but stayed in contact. I never pressured him and I was trying to be as cool as I could but I did tell him on several occassions I missed him and he told me just a week ago that he missed me and wanted me.

So now he has vanished and my sense is he is using again.
What do I do??

Did I push him over the edge? I was completely open with him and told him how close I felt to him and that I wanted to be there for him but he knew how intensely I was feeling towards him and that he couldn't be a full participant in a relationship so he ended things and what did I do? I couldn't leave well enough alone. I wrote him and told him of my feelings but that I understood his decision.

Now I feel just awful. Responsible even. This is all so new to me and I see now the potential pain being in a relationship with someone who is struggling with this disease.

Any guidance, support would be appreciated because Im freaking out actually. I couldn't live with myself if something horrible happened.
Old 07-28-2010, 04:39 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
RIP Sweet Suki

You are projecting. Stop that!