So Discouraged

Old 07-25-2010, 06:59 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
rozied

So Discouraged

I have been coming here on and off for about 5 yrs. Before that I had been in a few 12 step programs, but its still very hard. For me it was easier when it was my husband who was the addict cuz after 10yrs I divorced him. That was over 30 yrs ago. Now the addict is my 43 yr old son and its alot harder cuz you cannot divorce your child, but I can separate myself from him and thats what I've finally done.
He got out of jail Christmas Day and since he has been out it is one mess after another and I cannot believe a word he says. Last Monday he asked me to cash a check for him that his girlfriend got from her father so I did. He swore the check was good. Friday there was money missing out of my cking account so I called my bank. I had completely forgotten about the ck. Well it was returned for insufficient funds, so it cost me $150 for the ck & a $12 service charge.
There is so much it is silly to even post it all. I am broken hearted but that doesn't solve anything. He is hurting everyone in our family and I cannot have that. The only thing I can do is separate myself from him.
Old 07-25-2010, 07:53 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Do you have any emotional support available to you?
Old 07-25-2010, 07:59 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

(((Rozied))) - I'm sorry your son can't seem to find his way. I don't have a child that is struggling with addiction, but I have a niece who is "expereminting" with alcohol, and I love her as much as if she were mine, so I have an idea.

I also wonder if you have any support? I know the deal with your parents, and that's got to be hard. I know that I couldn't survive MY addiction/codie recovery without the f2f support I get. SR is great, but sometimes I need a real hug or someone at the other end of the phone.

Hugs and prayers!

Amy
Old 07-25-2010, 08:10 PM
  # 4 (permalink)