Addict brother makes me feel like a criminal...

Old 07-22-2010, 04:52 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Addict brother makes me feel like a criminal...

An addict in my life has caused me great anxiety over my ADD medication. I need advice from anyone willing to read my story. It’s long, and I apologize for that.

I had been on Adderall for twelve years, 20mg two times per day, for ADD (no hyperactivity). A psychiatrist diagnosed me around the age of 15. Once I began treatment with the medicine, my life changed. My grades in high school went from failing to excelling. I developed interests and hobbies, and even went on to college, where I graduated with a very high GPA. I continued the medication through my early twenties, when I began halving my dosage during certain months, as I held an unpaid internship position and there were times when I simply couldn’t afford the co-pay to fill a script. When I finally secured a paid position at the company where I had interned, I had money again and was filling my scripts regularly.

My trouble began in my mid-twenties, when I had taken in my younger brother, who was at the peak of his battle with opiate addiction (he is now in recovery, thankfully). My parents had kicked him out of their home. During his stay with me, he would steal anything he could. One of his favorite things to do was skim my medication to sell it for money to buy heroin (No matter where I‘d hide it, he‘d find it. I began carrying it with me, but he‘d steal it when I was asleep). I should have turned him into the police, but I couldn’t bring myself to do it. Once or twice, when I was particularly low on medication, I contacted my doctor, and told him I had lost the meds. He skeptically wrote me scripts for the missing remainder.