Feeling lost and alone..

Old 04-23-2010, 10:00 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Feeling lost and alone..

Hi all. This is my first time posting in a forum like this, so please don't mind me if I mess something up. I hope this is the right place to post this, as it is a little about me, but mostly about the problems I'm having with my boyfriend right now.

Well, I guess I may as well start at the beginning. We met when I was 5 years old. He was my cousins best friend, and I was always over their house because they had the nicest toys and an in-ground swimming pool. We hit it off and remained friends ever since. When I was 15, I was cheated on by my first boyfriend with my best friend. Well, he was there (I'll just call him Jack from now on) for me and helped picked up the pieces. We then began dating, and we have been together ever since - almost 8 years now. Well, about a year into our relationship, we started smoking pot and stuff, but eventually ended up as opiate addicts. After a few years of this, and countless attempts to quit together, he went to the methadone clinic and counseling. I claimed to quit but was actually still using. That went on for another few years, until I finally came clean with him and sobered up. It's been a little over a year for me now.

Like most every night anymore, I went down to his house. I had been suspicious that he had been using for awhile now, but like all good addicts he lied and lied, and I desperately wanted to believe him. Well, I finally caught him doing it. This isn't the first time he relapsed. I'm just so very tired of this. Of course he says he's going to quit, but I've been through this so many times. I know how tough it is - I've been through it. He said he gave me another chance, and he did, so I should give him one. Well I have given him so many chances, I've lost count. He'll sober up for a few months-year, and then relapse. Tonight, I almost relapsed. I would have, except for I couldn't find anything, luckily.