I just found out my GF has been taking 35-40 Vicodin a day!

Old 01-07-2010, 09:35 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I just found out my GF has been taking 35-40 Vicodin a day!

As the title says I just found out my GF has been abusing Vicodin for the past 2 years and her addiction has gotten gradually worse to the point she's been taking 35-40 or more a day for the past few months. Needless to say i'm devastated. I just want to know if anybody has had any experience with an addiction to Vicodin this severe and I would like some advice on how to cope with this. I guess I should tell you that she's unhappily married and has been to a 3 day inpatient detox. She is now on her 7th day without any Vicodin.
Old 01-07-2010, 11:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I guess the issue I have is the amoount of pills she was taking. I am not an expert on drug abuse but it seems like a totally ridiculous amount to me. Is this very common or has anybody had similar experiences?
Old 01-08-2010, 12:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

(((Emspro))) - it IS a ridiculous amount, but as an RA (recovering addict) we build a very high toleraince and can get to where we take an extreme amount of drugs. Though crack was my DOC (drug of choice), I used to abuse opiates and I know of several people here who did a similar amount, or more, of Vicodin.

As ((Cyinical)) pointed out, please read the stickies and other posts, maybe check out meetings. Until your gf wants help for her addiction, she will continue on this path. No amount of love, begging, threatening, etc. will stop her...at least not for the long term. We A's can stop drugs...it's the STAYING stopped that requires a lot of work and support of other recovering addicts.