Every Year It Gets Harder

Old 02-21-2009, 04:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
rozied

Every Year It Gets Harder

Many of you know me cuz I have been coming here for 2 yrs. My 42yr old son is addicted to drugs. He is in jail right now. He has been addicted to drugs since he is 21. He has been in & out of jail for the last 8yrs. I want to go see him. I haven't seen him in 8months. He was in wk release in August for about 2wks, then he messed up again and was sent back to jail. I was so angry for the 1st few months I didn't even want to see him. After about 3mts he wrote & asked me to come visit. So I said I would when the weather breaks. Its getting close to that time & I find myself getting all upset inside. Its so hard to see him when you know he is getting older. Then you wonder whats going to become of him. You know you can't take him in & its worrying you. I know I just have to trust my HP. Thanks for letting me share.
Diane
Old 02-21-2009, 04:19 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Belgian Sheepdog Adictee

(((((Diane)))))

Sweetie, you have posted a lot of your trip into recovery here over the last 2+ years, including I believe dealing with your 'enabling' parents.

Instead of tying yourself all up in knots, how about just doing a "Pro and Con" list on going to visit son. I remember how many times he 'goofed' up his work release, and is still in jail, only BECAUSE OF HIMSELF. Now if part of the consequences of HIS ACTIONS, turns out to be that it is just too physically and emotionally hard on you to see him there, then so be it.

Sweetie, if you do not take care of you, physically, financially, emotionally, and spiritually, you won't be around when he gets out.

So ................................... do your Pro and Con list. Take days or weeks ............. when you think of something write it in the appropriate column. That will give you something in Black and White, which I have found for me, helps immensely when I am struggling with a decision.