Family Hitting Bottom... what to do?

Old 11-13-2008, 11:54 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Family Hitting Bottom... what to do?

I wasn't sure where to start or what forum to include this in... because simply my brother uses drugs, alcohol, gambling on a regular basis to cope with life. If I were to pinpoint on vice that my brother uses I probably could't come up with it. I'm just looking for some help... direction in how to deal with a persistant and painful situation.

My brother is 36.... I am 38 and my sister is 35. We grew up in a family of five... and both my parents are still married... happily/unhappily. We grew up in a pretty average household. My parents didn't drink on a regulr basis. My parents weren't the most supportive people, but they did work hard and always left us with the sense that we were taken care of. Although I had my problems in school, bouts w/ partying, I graduated college w/ a bachelors degree and have worked successfully in computers. The last 10 years for me have been great, married, own a house, responsible citizen. My sister is in the middle... having graduated high school and holds a decent job. My brother is the complete opposite... to the point we have nothing in common except for our DNA.