Kind of OT, but does anyone know anything about health insurance?

Old 09-18-2008, 12:42 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Kind of OT, but does anyone know anything about health insurance?

So since AH was fired in July our insurance stopped. I have been doing COBRA - I just got a bill today for $5000 for 3 months worth of coverage. August - October. I have been keeping the Cobra because ds has an eye condition that could possibly require surgery. I didn't want his surgery to be a pre-existing condition if I picked up a different coverage.

AH is still sick from withdrawal and is trying to get his resume' together. He's found a few jobs that he wants to apply for that make very good $. BUT insurance doesn't kick in until 30 days after employment.

Does anyone know ANYTHING that I can do other than Cobra for the meantime? Any kind of temp insurance, state aid anything? I'm sure my income would be over the limit for any kind of govt. aid. But I'm just not wanting to fork out the price of a small car for 3 months worth of insurance.

AH has said to just not pay it and let it fall back on him. If I do that, he'll be socked with about $9k worth of bills from rehab, er visits etc. AH has a call into unemployment to see if they know of anything. Thanks for reading and thanks for your input.
Old 09-18-2008, 02:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I think it would be great if your husband took responsibility to find solutions to his own problems the he created by himself. That's real recovery!

Don't do for others what they can do for themselves, right?

But if your looking for insurance for your kids, lots of companies have less expensive programs. Just go to their websites. I'm not sure what's in your area. I found basic coverage for my son for about $160 a month, and I could have covered 3 or 4 kids for the same price!
Old 09-18-2008, 02:31 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

callie,