SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/)
-   Friends and Family of Substance Abusers (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/)
-   -   Need advice-codisim or compashion (https://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/friends-family-substance-abusers/156768-need-advice-codisim-compashion.html)

frankly 08-30-2008 07:42 AM

Need advice-codisim or compashion

Well, I'm really in a pickle here trying to make a decision. It's really nothing to do with addiction but everthing to do with my own recovery from co-dependance.

I hired a young man to lay block in the basement of the motel. He is about 24 or so, clean cut, with a 2 year old daughter. He works a regular job and he asked if he could do my job after work and on weekends. I let him. I left the basement open for him and I went home.

As some of you know, I've had some real bad experiences with being robbed. I'm real touchy about it because I can no longer leave my home without the thought that when I return, everything could be gone again.

Well this young man, took a commercial AC unit from the rear of the motel and took it to the scrap yard and sold it. It was a broken unit, but fixable. The scrap yard called the police, who confronted him, he admitted to it, but begged the cops to let him talk to me. The cops didn't even call me or arrest him. They told him to talk to me and see if I would let it go. And they left. The only reason I heard about it, is another trustworthy worker heard the call on the scanner and contacted me.