Recovery question

Old 07-10-2008, 08:58 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Recovery question

If someone is going to outpatient rehab, and is relapsing weekly while in rehab, are they considered recovering, or are they still considered active?
Old 07-10-2008, 09:10 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Wow... excellent question.

I would say that if they are using weekly, they are still considered active, but that's just my opinion. There are a lot of factors that play into this. Are they enthusiastic about the rehab? Are they doing any kind of reading at home, either from the big book or some other literature that the rehab would have referred them to?

I guess the only person who knows whether or not they are really trying is the addict. Sometimes I think the labels we give them are less important than the actions that earn them one label or another... but I'm no expert on that issue.
Old 07-10-2008, 09:26 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
grateful rca

hey crush,
just want to add my 2 cents, imo, sound like active to me. you know i've been in quite a few rehabs in my day and i have used my going to out patient kind of a cover up. on the other hand, he may mean well but maybe not quite ready to commit to working a program. its good that he is still going, i think, some get it quicker than others. i was kind of a slow learner but the more i stuck with it, the more the light of recovery began to shine through. its all up to him.

hope the light comes on for him soon, but if not, before long, his actions will tell the story. i don't see how he can continue to be commited to working his program and still use weekly. the program works but the addict has to commit to working the program if they want to see a change. still praying for you
Old 07-10-2008, 10:00 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Retired Pro Drunk

I'd call it active use. Limited use never gets better. It's a one way street when you're an addict.
Old 07-10-2008, 10:16 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
'Round and 'Round I Go....

Strictly my opinion....