just curious...

Old 05-20-2008, 08:03 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

just curious...

how long does it take to complete the 12 steps?
Old 05-20-2008, 08:17 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I believe everyone is different! it's at your own pace
Old 05-20-2008, 08:27 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Attitude of Gratitude

There is no time line of how long it takes or should take.

Each addict/alcoholic is different.

I know people who have worked them rather quickly and others it can take a year, two years . . . just depends on the person.

One Day at A Time,
Judy
Old 05-20-2008, 08:41 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

I will always be working on a step. Always and forever. I have learned so much and have grown so much as a result of the Al Anon program. I've been doing it for 14 years now.

My ex tried doing 12 steps in about 8 days. To say it was a disaster is an understatement. He wanted to rush right thru to the end to see what it was all about. He had no idea what he was doing, and he caused more pain and drama as a result.

Working the steps is for some is a transformation. For many it becomes a new and better way of life.

Hope this helps

Cats
Old 05-20-2008, 08:57 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

In my working the steps and in and watching my father get sober/recover - I believe you never stop working the steps actually!!

I am always very very suspicious of addicts/ alcoholics who think there is some kind of graduation from the 12th step! They like to talk about which step they are on - as if once they get to 12 they will no longer be addicts/alcoholics. That simply isn't true. It takes time to truly work each step...different amounts for everybody - but it isn't quick!! And I know for myself, I have worked that 1st step about a zillion times in the 15+ years since I first found AlAnon!!
Peace,
B.
Old 05-20-2008, 11:45 PM
  # 6 (permalink)