Naranon

Old 03-07-2008, 01:02 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Naranon

I have a quick question, I'm really wanting to attend a Nar-anon meeting but the closest one I'm finding is about 30 miles away and I don't have the means to go that far, would it be acceptable to go to a Na-anon meeting I know that it isn't the same thing. I'm very new to all of this, I'm really wanting to learn more about the lifestyle and the process so that I can understand the lady in my life and the trials and tribulations that she goes through. I believe that she and I both have a lot to offer each other, I just need to better understand the road to recovery.
Old 03-07-2008, 02:08 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

I'm not sure what NA anon is, Shawn, but perhaps call and check it out. It may be the same as Naranon. The one that is quite different is Narconon which is Scientology based and quite different.

Alanon is also used by many members here because there are more meetings and often the only meetings near where they live.

Alanon, Naranon and CoDA are three very similar programs and in the end, they are not about the substance but about finding a healthier way for US to live.

Good luck and let us know how you make out.

Hugs
Old 03-07-2008, 12:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I'm sorry I'm still a little sketchy on some of the acronyms, I was referring to a Regular NA meeting, there are plenty around the area where I am, but getting to an actual NARanon meeting is proving quite difficult.
Old 03-07-2008, 12:38 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Update, Just saw the alanon reference and I have found a few that are in my area and with in reach, Thank you for your help.
Old 03-07-2008, 12:40 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  
We Do Recover