Cutting Communication

Old 01-01-2008, 12:13 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Question Cutting Communication

Hi,
I'm new to all of this and really need some advice. My sister has a serious drug problem. She has done so many terrible things to the family that every time I even think of it I get so angry. Some Examples: stealing thousands of dollars, stealing and selling family heirlooms to support her habit, lying on a consistent basis, making us feel guilty for not trusting her only to find out that she's lying again.

She finally went to detox, followed by rehab (2nd time cause she got kicked out the first time).

Following rehab she stayed at a women's shelter and was supposed to look for a job, get her own place and get on her feet. It has been 4 months now, she sleeps all day, has lost 30lbs (drug use), and is back on the drugs (despite her claims that she is 8 mths clean). She refuses to go back to rehab and continues to abuse the system.

It really makes my mother so depressed (instead of thinking about enjoying retirement she worries about her daughter), she blames herself and can't understand how my sister has become so complacent and reckless with her life.

I am so close to completely cutting my sister out of my life. I feel like the sister that I love so much has disappeared and been replaced by a selfish, lazy person with no morals or consideration for anything.

Can anyone please give me some advice?
What have you done to help deal with things?
Is cutting an addict out of your life the wrong thing to do?
Old 01-01-2008, 12:27 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

WELCOME TO S.R.