Sitting with my anxiety...

Old 12-27-2007, 10:17 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Sitting with my anxiety...

I am new to SoberRecovery, and I think this is the forum I belong in. My young son is an addict in California, and his older brother has gone to help him move to the east coast into a guest apartment in our home. Young son has lost his excellent job, and is clearly on a downhill path. Older son has helped my AS by making lists, giving guidance, etc., but my AS used drugs on Christmas Eve when he went out with friends, slept the day away, until eldest son forced him awake to attend Christmas dinner with in-law family members. AS took something before dinner, and talked to himself at the table, was way under the influence, and essentially ruined the Christmas dinner of 8 people.
Yesterday, nothing got done, and today is the day both sons were to leave California for the east coast. Last night, elder son went to home of AS, who wasn't accomplishing much in the way of leaving, and AS began throwing things at elder son. It ended badly, with elder son going elsewhere for the night.
This morning, elder son has given AS two more days to leave, but AS still is wanting elder son to do everything for him. I'm not so sure we should keep "making this happen" for AS, but rather allow him to get everything done himself. My fear is that he is bringing his problem to the east coast, not coming to get the fresh start he claims he needed, away from the triggers and memories of the town he lives in in CA. Does it sound like my AS is just rationalizing his coming east by saying he is going to get a new job and start a new life? Or, am I enabling him to continuing using by providing a new place for him to continue his drug abuse? My AS is 38, and has been using drugs for most of his life; the elder brother is 41. I would so appreciate any insights.
Thank you.
Nieu
Old 12-27-2007, 10:30 AM
  # 2 (permalink)