How do I tell? codeine Addict

Old 11-12-2007, 02:44 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

How do I tell? codeine Addict

Hi, I'm new to all this. After 12 years with my husband, married for the last 5, I finally had enough in August and said I wanted a divorce. We have had no intimacey for years - even before our marriage. I don't just mean sex, although that's been sorely lacking (haven't had sex since 2004!), but friendship, companionship, etc. Now he won't leave our home, he says it's MY CHOICE to leave this marriage, etc. I found out 3 weeks after saying I wanted a divorce that he has been using codeine since at least 2000, but I wonder if it's been something all along. Regardless, I'm still done. What I want to know is, is this typical behavior - lack of intimacy, etc. I have cried and cried and begged and begged for years for the basics, suggested and asked to go to counseling, etc.. Each time I got that he would think about it and try, and six months to a year later I had the same issues - cried and begged some more. I went to do my own therapy, and it was from the strength I learned during that round of therapy that I am done, and now I feel like I'm being manipulated, treated unfairly, etc. I guess I'm looking for a little accountability from him, and it's not coming - will it ever? I am going to Alanon, my own therapist and will visit a few NA meetings. I am having a hard time establishing if I am making mountains out of molehills, then I think I'm just being codependent and of course there's a problem. He is trying to tell me he has spent more money on the house (I have always worked and bring in my fair share - or done more than my fair share) so I need to be fair and let him buy me out of the house, but not so that he'll have to work longer than he wants to, etc. Obviously I am confused - not about wanting a divorce but how to go about it, not sure how much I can push him, or not communicate, etc. I know I can't totally understand how an addict thinks, but I'm tryin