OT-doggie problems

Old 10-25-2007, 10:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

OT-doggie problems

Do dogs go senile?
Seriously, I need some guidance from those who know more.
My dog is nine, and a large breed. They said they thought he was a shepard lab mix, but he actually looks like a golden with a black coat.

Recently, he decided he couldn't (or wouldn't?) come up the basement stairs. He can go down just fine, and can raise a real riot outside when a deer enters the yard. He seems healthy and agile. But he wouldn't climb the steps. Instead, he sat at the bottom and whined. I pulled him up once (barely) but the seconmd time was a no go. Same thing last night.
He's driving me nuts...he wieghs 90+ pounds!

I did notice his nails have gotten long, so I'll begin trimming tonight (he has dark nails so I have to trim a little at a time to be safe)

He seems afraid. I should probably mention he's a weenie
Any suggestions?
Old 10-25-2007, 10:42 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

hi -im a vet tech and yes, it is possible for dogs to go senile in their old age. however, it sounds to me like maybe something else is going on. the movement of going up the steps is different than the movement of coming down them, so maybe something is sore and thats why hes unable to do it. i would take him to the vet and ask about the possibility of arthritis or a bulging disc that could be causing him pain. also, ask about a NSAI (non steroidal anti inflammatory) to help him bounce back. the two good ones are Rimadyl and Metacam...very easy on the system and you will see an improvement very quickly. good luck. i hope everything is ok!

Last edited by GratefulGirl; 10-25-2007 at 10:43 AM. Reason: spelled something wrong
Old 10-25-2007, 11:14 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I would go to the vet. My Lady weighs approx. 120-130 and she has arthritis. She just stopped one day hopping on and off 'HER" chair. Vet gave her meds to take as needed. 3 days of meds and she was like a puppy again.