Thanks everyone!

Old 09-20-2007, 04:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thanks everyone!

I'm new to posting here, but have been reading posts for months and wanted to let you all know how VERY much you have helped me.

Just a little bit about myself. I am a recovering addict - had more than 1 year clean, relapsed for 1 week and decided that was it - no more, and I now have 6 months. But I have been a codie forever! I wore out my first copy of "codependent no more" years ago and had to buy another one. Unfortunately, I didn't practice what I read back then.

I am dealing with the consequences of my irresponsibility and financial ruin. I was a nurse making good money, now I am a server (waitress) making $3.13/hr plus tips. (I AM working on getting my nursing career back and will do whatever it takes). I am living with my dad, stepmom (who I love dearly) and my 14-year-old niece, who's mom (my stepsister) died at age 18 in a car wreck when my niece was 13 months old. I am surrounded by codependence (my stepmom feels guilty my niece never knew her mom so niece basically controls the house).

Anyway, I read posts every morning when I get home from work (I work 3rd shift) and have been trying to practice what I learn. Last week, the doorbell rang, and my stepmom woke me up and said "there's a cop at the door for you". Well, my heart sunk to the basement and I thought "I'm going to jail in my jammies". I haven't done anything wrong BUT I have all these bills past due and any ticket or judicial problem with that would be a violation of my probation and I would go back to jail. Well, the officer was very nice and handed me papers saying that I've been sued for $4000 by a creditor on an old credit card and the creditors won and I had 30 days to respond. I told him "you scared the H--- out of me, I'm on probation". He told me to call them, work out a payment plan and it would be all right.