New Here!

Old 08-11-2007, 03:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New Here!

hello all.

i am new here and thought i would introduce myself. i am a student about to start my junior years of college and am home for the summer working and visiting my parents. it was this past week that i was informed that for the past 30+ years my father has been an addict. about an hour after getting the news, he checked into a rehabilitation center. i was completely unaware of anything and the whole thing was completely shocking to me. my whole life, all my friends told me that my family was the leave it to beaver family and i was under that same impression and in this past week i am finding out more and more that i certainly have a hard time hearing but also things that confuse me to no end. in joining this community i hope to learn much more about this disease and also i hope to hear stories from the family side on how to cope. like i said this is all fresh and new to me so any stories of encouragement and support are welcomed... but by all means, let me know what im in for.

thanks.
Old 08-11-2007, 03:46 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

*hugs*

I am so sorry that you are going through this. I can only imagine how much it must hurt. The addict in my life is my sister, so my perspective is a little different.

Addiction is a disease, and a very tough one to beat. You should be very glad that your father is going to rehab... addicts rarely go to rehab before they are ready to admit that they need help. So, the fact that he is there is a great sign. Not to say you should assume that life for him will be clear skies from this point on, but at least his heart is in the right place.

Feel free to stick around. Read some of the other threads. Read the stickies at the top of the page. I could tell you all kinds of stories from my experience, but I don't know what you're looking for exactly, so I would be typing in circles.