Any suggestions or help would be great

Old 05-14-2007, 10:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Any suggestions or help would be great

I am new to this, but figured that maybe someone could give me some advice.
Here goes:
On Friday night, my boyfriend told me that he has a cocaine problem and wants to stop. I was so dumbfounded, I didn't know what to do. I am very naive about this and had no idea that he even did it! He is 33 and has 2 boys that live with their mom and visist us every other weekend. I have custody of my daughter and the 3 of us live together. He has never done the coke in my house and tells me that he has only been doing it for about 6 of 7 months. He hated hiding it from me and wants to quit. He came clean with everything and told me everything, when he was doing it, why he was doing it, and who he was getting it from. He called his supplier and told him not to come around and got rid of all of the paraphenalia. He let me look through his hiding spot and we both threw eveything away.

I gave him an ultimatum...me or cocaine. He chose me, but told me that it is hard to quit and that he would be a bear for a while. I am willing to I deal with it.

I called a rehab place to ask them what I could do to help him through it. They pretty much won't talk to me about it since I am not the one with the problem. But really, because I love him, I do feel that it is my problem. I asked him if he would be willing to go to rehab and that I would go along with him. He told me that he is done using it and that if he felt the urge or desire to do it, that he would call me, and that he didn't want to talk to a stranger about his problem. I am concerned that maybe he can't do this on his own. He claims that the reason he would do it is to avoid stress. He owns his own business and things don't ever go smoothly.

Does anyone out there have any suggestions on things that I can do to help him stay clean?
Old 05-14-2007, 12:01 PM
  # 2 (permalink)