Newbie to the board and happy to have found the forums

Old 06-23-2006, 05:23 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie to the board and happy to have found the forums

Good morning,
I am going to apologize for the length of this post ahead of time- please bear with me.

I am a newbie here and up until three days ago I thought that any and all issues with alcoholism were far, far behind me. I am married to a great guy who has been sober 12 years up until the last two or so months (unfortunately, I am not depending on his word to be accurate). I only discovered the drinking this past Monday. “J” and I have been together 16 years, married for 10. He was pretty far into his addiction when we met and I, of course, thought I could “fix” him so I stayed and I fought and got all sorts of sick myself.

Early on we had made arrangements to be married but the drinking became so bad that I finally realized that I could not be married to this disease and if was going to continue then I had to be away from him. To say addiction runs in his family is an understatement and he lost his older brother to the disease 14 years ago. It finally came down to him not drinking and us trying to work it out or for him to continue without me. He went into treatment and after a 30 in-house treatment program “J” became sober. He has been an excellent role model and many people have been impressed with his determination and work to overcome his addiction – he has not had a drink since until a couple of months ago.

Since “J” became sober we have gotten married, we have had two children ages 4 & 6, we have established ourselves and worked through quite a lot and was able to purchase a beautiful home where we want to raise our kids. He has a great job and just got a very nice raise and I am working towards a degree and preparing to launch a business. It was really going well and I was just telling friends that for the first time in a long time I was becoming very content with my life. Until this past Monday.