Newbie Here

Old 04-27-2006, 09:25 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Simply Sober

Unhappy Newbie Here

Hello, I am a recovering alcoholic/addict that is engaged to a recently relapsed alcoholic/addict that had 14-months of sobriety before he relapsed. It was suggested by my AA sponsor to check out this side of things because I am not going to leave him. So, my name is Samantha B. & I am now a newbie Alanon!! I am scared of all this because it is the unknown. I know that I need this though because I was in a 3 year relationship before this one that was a constant battle ground of his (my ex's relapses)...the man that I am with now is really passionate about recovery & sobriety so I am having a hard time dealing with all of this since, he did not just relapse once but twice in one week. I was ok with the first time & let him come home but the second time, I felt rejected, angry, hurt, and in danger so I told him to go get help because my sobriety came first!! He went & got help...he has been sober since 04/23/06 & he is in a half-way house now but he wants to come home now. Part of me wants him to come home & the other part of me wants him to stay there awhile longer. I feel like I have been rejected & like his drugs come before me. I don't like feeling this way at all. He says I am always angry, yelling at him, and attacking him...I say (and my friend(s) say) he is manipulating & controlling me!! I feel like I am being torn in two!! Please help me!! I have gone to two Alanon meetings here in my hometown & really enjoyed them!! They have helped me alot. I plan to continue to go to them. But I haven't worked up the courage to speak in them as of yet. Though I have cried in them at some of the things that have been said because they have hit so close to home!! I feel like I am going insane...I am a recovering alcoholic/addict myself...I shouldn't feel this way, should I?! Please help me understand what is going on within me!! Thanks!!
Old 04-27-2006, 09:56 PM
  # 2 (permalink)